通过简单的水泵更换,迪拜建筑实现高达 80% 的能源节省

Overview_TEXT

概述

故事背景 

有时需要一些简单而具体的事情,比如改善租户的满意度,才能把管理好自己的建筑和政府提高建筑能源利用率的目标结合起来。迪拜政府计划在2030年之前对3万栋建筑进行改造,以减少该市30%的能源需求。这是阿拉伯联合酋长国为节约能源和水所采取的几项重大举措之一。鉴于科技的飞速发展,该市现在有了可以大幅节约建筑成本的解解决方案历了过去几十年重要而快速的增长之后,迪拜近年来对这些节能解决方案的需求越来越明显。

“这座城市建造得非常迅速,但当时并没有把重点放在高质量的设计、高质量的建设、高质量的材料、运营和维护上,”Taka Solutions的创始人兼首席执行官Charles Blaschke说,Taka Solutions是一家能源咨询公司,专注于迪拜商业建筑的工程、技术和财务优化 加句号

 “这些巨大又美观的建筑大多是玻璃的。在沙漠里,我们处于极端气候中。迪拜一年有364天是晴天。降雨量几乎为零。猛烈的日光带来强烈的太阳辐射。玻璃建筑物会消耗大量能源。当时,能源很便宜,所以人们毫不关心。他们只是想要舒适的建筑。“让我们安装一个更大的空调系统、一个更大的水泵系统,以确保无论发生什么(无论是否满负荷运行),我们都要确保建筑内保持凉爽。” 所以在整个迪拜,水泵和空调系统通常都比实际需求大很多同时它们并没有以最大效率运行。

 

”迪拜杜拜蓝塔 迪拜蓝塔的 “喷气式发动机”  

蓝塔是此类匆忙建设的建筑之一,它有一个超级巨大的空调系统。这是一座典型的中型建筑,大约有10年历史,位于迪拜北部的一个开发区。它有八层公寓。泵房位于屋顶上,就在812、813和805房间上方。住在这几个房间里的客人特别形容,天花板上的噪音就像“喷气式发动机一样持续不断”。

 “在这里,生活和睡眠受到很大影响——这是一座公寓建筑。他们所能听到的就是这种巨大的、刺耳的噪音,这种声音从未消失过,”Charles Blaschke说。“由于这个炎热地区的空调需求,空调实际上每年365天,每天24小时都在运行。一年中他们没有一个小时是感到舒适的,带来了非常不舒适度 居住体验感。这驱使我们设法解决这个问题。”

蓝塔业主 H&H 资产管理和开发公司在迪拜德拉区的另外两栋大楼绿塔(商用)和猎鹰塔(住宅)也同时面临了异常高昂电费的问题。投资组合经理Vasileios Vatistas怀疑这也与水泵及制冷系统有关。就在这时,他的公司与Taka Solutions取得了联系

 

格兰富能源检测 

Taka Solutions与格富兰合作,确定了现有暖通空调(采暖、通风和空调)水泵系统的问题。格兰富的一次能耗检测确定,这些建筑配备了超大型水泵,运行效率低下,并且其恒定的主冷水机系统平衡能力很差。水泵以恒定速度运转。ΔT(供水和回水冷却水之间的温差)只有1摄氏度,这意味着建筑的制冷系统效率极低。

因此,格兰富建议改用全新的智能变频端吸泵NBE泵。这样可以根据冷水机的需求提供准确的流量,在不会产生任何浪费的同时可将回水温差提升至5摄氏度。 这是一个简单的交钥匙解决方案。 “当我们看到蓝塔、绿塔和猎鹰塔这三座大楼里的水泵的诸多问题, 如能源浪费、剧烈振动、噪音问题、运行不稳定;同时水泵系统有着巨大节能潜力时,我们认为需要更换系统及设备了。”Taka Solutions的Charles Blaschke说。

接着Taka Solutions提供免费更换旧泵的绩效合同服务。 

对于这份基于绩效的合同,H&H的Vasileios Vatistas说:“事实上,我们团队的许多人都对此持怀疑态度,”但没过多久,大家就明白了这一切。节省的能源足以支付水泵的升级费用。

 

解决方案 

“这个想法其实很简单,”他在谈到绩效合同时说。“Taka Solutions的投资回报率建立在这些建筑的节能效果上。这是一个双赢局面,因为我们有新的最先进的设备。我们延长了资产的使用寿命。我们可以为住户提供更好的环境,这对我们H&H来说非常重要。根据我们的协议,Taka Solutions可以从接下来几年的节能中收回资金。”

 

立竿见影的成效 

H&H几乎立刻看到了成效。蓝塔的水泵以前每小时耗能36千瓦。升级后,水泵耗电量为仅为7-10千瓦/小时。现在在运行两年之后,他们的用电量比以前减少了81%。另外,不仅水泵的效率提高,整个暖通空调系统的效率也随之得到了提升。该投资的实际投资回收期仅为八个月。

"我们所做的每一件事,都是从我们所创造的节省中获得回报的,”Charles Blaschke说。“我们必须确保一个项目的设计是着眼于长期收益。在我们的项目中,与格兰富这样的优质合作伙伴和设备供应商合作是关键,因为这能确保项目成功实施。我们知道我们可以信任他们。我们知道他们的方案是正确的。这将是正确的优化解决方案。不仅是对于现在,对于将来也是如此。

 

成果 

2018年另外两座大楼的改造成果也反映了类似的情况。猎鹰塔减少了46%的用电量,绿塔减少了57%的用电量。总的来说,这些建筑的总节能量(包括制冷、通风和照明)降低了 20-25%。

"我真的很想说这是非常值得的,”Vasileios Vatistas说。他补充说,这不仅对他的公司来说是值得的,而且这三座大楼里的住户都感觉更为舒适。那蓝塔八楼水泵下方的房间呢?现在一切都安静了,再也没有任何抱怨。

迪拜类似建筑的改造潜力巨大。Charles Blaschke说:“重要的是,必须将注意力集中在替换原有低效水泵上,以实现迪拜 2030年将水和能耗减少30%的愿景。”他补充说,水泵的改造也有助于实现联合国的可持续发展目标SDG6和13–水和气候。 “一切都从一栋楼开始。一次一栋楼,”他说。“我们把建筑物看作是有巨大潜在价值的宝藏。节能,减少二氧化碳排放,节约资金——它们潜藏在这些大楼里,无人问津,无人开发。”他说,这种“即省即付”的商业模式,允许大楼业主免费改造升级他们的暖通空调系统,这是有助于挖掘建筑长期价值的动力。 “我们需要做的就是去接近它们并且着手行动,” 他说。“这不是希望和梦想,也不是不可行的事情。这是触手可及的,非常容易实现的解决方案。”

话题:

商用建筑的水泵节能解决方案

地点:

阿联酋 迪拜

公司:

Taka Solutions和H&H资产管理和开发公司

“我真的很想说这是非常值得的,”H&H 资产管理和开发公司投资组合经理Vasileios Vatistas说,他负责在迪拜的三栋大楼进行格兰富能耗检测和Taka Solutions水泵和冷水机组系统升级。

 

迪拜杜拜蓝塔

 

迪拜德拉猎鹰塔

 

迪拜德拉猎鹰塔

 

H&H的Vasileios Vatistas(左)和蓝塔的设施经理了解如何通过格兰富服务技术人员(右)的智能手机格兰富 GO 应用程序监控Grundfos 智能端吸泵NBE。

 

在大楼改造后,绿塔的新暖通空调水泵在办公楼制冷用电量方面比以前减少了57%。

 

Contacts_TEXT

联系人

如果您需要类似解决方案,请联系我们获取详细信息。


选择公司:

电话

400 920 6655

传真

021-61225333

地址

上海市闵行区苏虹路33号虹桥天地3号楼10层

电话

400 920 6655

传真

020-87143999

地址

广州市先烈中路69号东山广场2218室

电话

023 63466466

传真

023 67712207

地址

重庆市嘉民重庆空港物流中心通宝路33号

电话

400 920 6655

传真

010-58112700

地址

北京市海淀区科学院南路2号融科资讯中心C座北楼16层

联系人

如果您需要类似解决方案,请联系我们获取详细信息。


选择公司:

电话

400 920 6655

传真

021-61225333

地址

上海市闵行区苏虹路33号虹桥天地3号楼10层

电话

400 920 6655

传真

020-87143999

地址

广州市先烈中路69号东山广场2218室

电话

023 63466466

传真

023 67712207

地址

重庆市嘉民重庆空港物流中心通宝路33号

电话

400 920 6655

传真

010-58112700

地址

北京市海淀区科学院南路2号融科资讯中心C座北楼16层

Dubai buildings unlock up to 80% energy savings with simple pump swaps

Overview_TEXT

Overview

 

The situation

Sometimes it takes something as simple and concrete as unhappy tenants to connect the dots between how to fix one’s own building and your government’s goals for improving buildings’ energy use. 

The Dubai government aims to retrofit 30,000 of its buildings by 2030 to help reduce the city’s energy demand by 30%. It is one of several major initiatives for saving energy and water in the United Arab Emirates. Given the rapid pace at which technology is advancing, the city now has access to solutions that enable such drastic savings in the buildings. After Dubai’s major and fast growth over the past few decades, the need for those solutions has become more and more clear in recent years. 

“This city was built very fast – but at the time there wasn’t a focus on quality design, quality construction, quality materials, operation and maintenance,” says Charles Blaschke, founder and CEO of Taka Solutions – an energy consulting company specialised in engineering, technology and finance optimisation for commercial buildings based in Dubai.

“And these big, beautiful buildings are mostly glass. In the desert, we’re in an extreme climate. Dubai is sunny 364 days a year. Rain is almost zero. It always has a very intense sun with solar radiation hitting the buildings. Glass buildings consume a lot of energy. At the time, energy was cheap, so people didn’t focus on energy. They just wanted comfortable buildings. ‘Let’s put in a bigger AC system, a bigger pump system, to ensure that no matter what happens – fully occupied or not – let’s make sure it’s more than enough to keep the building cool.’ So all over Dubai, the pumps and AC systems are usually much bigger than they need to be. They’re not operating for maximum efficiency.”

 

Indigo Tower’s ‘jet engine’

Indigo Tower is one of those buildings constructed in the rush and with a way-too-large AC system. It is a typical, mid-sized building around ten years old in one of Dubai’s developments north of the city. It has eight stories of apartments. The pump room is on the roof – just over rooms 812, 813 and 805. The residents in those rooms particularly described the noise above their ceilings as “constant – like a jet engine.” 

“People were trying to live and sleep there – it’s an apartment building. All they could hear was this loud, rattling noise that never went away,” says Charles Blaschke. “Because of the AC demands in this hot region, AC literally runs 24/7, 365 days a year. There wasn’t an hour of the year that they were comfortable and having issues with their experience in the building. There was a huge drive to solve this problem.”

Indigo Tower’s owner, H&H Property Management and Development, was also experiencing unusually high electricity costs at two of its other buildings, Green Tower (commercial) and Falcon Tower (residential), in the Deira District of Dubai. Portfolio Manager Vasileios Vatistas suspected it also had to do with the pumping and chilling systems. This was when his company got in touch with Taka Solutions.

 

Grundfos Energy Check

Taka Solutions worked with Grundfos to determine the problems around the existing HVAC (heating, ventilation and air conditioning) pumping systems. A Grundfos Energy Check determined that the buildings were equipped with oversized pumps, inefficient operation and poor balancing in their constant, primary chiller systems. The pumps ran at constant speed. The Delta-T (the temperature difference between the supply and return chilled water) was only 1 degree Celsius – which in a building’s chilling system means extreme inefficiency. 

Thus, Grundfos recommended changing to close-coupled, end-suction pumps with variable frequency drives – intelligent NB-E pumps. These could provide the exact flow requirements to the chillers without wastage and improve the Delta-T to five degrees Celsius. A simple, turnkey solution. 

“When we saw that the pumps in these three buildings – Indigo, Green and Falcon – were wasting energy, were vibrating, were causing noise issues, weren’t reliable and had savings potential, we saw this as a real winner and equipment to replace,” says Taka Solutions’ Charles Blaschke. And then Taka Solutions offered to replace the old pumps … for free. 

“It’s a fact that many people from our team were sceptical about this,” says H&H’s Vasileios Vatistas on the performance-based contract. But it did not take long to understand how it worked. The energy savings would pay for the pump upgrade.

 

The solution

“The idea is really simple,” he says of the performance-based contract. “Taka Solutions has return on investment based on the savings that those buildings will perform. It’s a win-win situation, because we get new, state-of-the-art equipment. We extend the lifespan of our assets. We can provide a better environment to our residents, which is really important for us in H&H. And Taka Solutions gets its money back from the energy savings over some years – depending on the agreement we have.”

 

Immediate results

H&H saw results almost immediately. At Indigo Tower, the pumps previously used 36 kW every hour. After the upgrade, they used between 7-10 kW/h. Now two years in operation, they use 81% less electricity than previously. In addition, pump efficiency is not only better, but also the efficiency of the whole HVAC system. Actual payback time on the investment is just eight months. 

“With everything we do, we’re only paid from the savings we generate,” says Charles Blaschke. “We have to ensure that a project is designed for the long term. Working with quality partners and equipment suppliers like Grundfos across our projects is key, because it gives us peace of mind. We know we can trust them. We know what they put in is right. It’s going to be the right optimised solution. Not just today, but also tomorrow.”

 

The outcome

The numbers on the other two building retrofits in 2018 tell similar stories. Falcon Tower cut its pumps’ electricity consumption by 46% and Green Tower cut its use by 57%. Overall, the buildings cut their total energy savings – including that from chillers, ventilation and lights – between 20-25%.

“I’m really keen to say that it was worth it,” says Vasileios Vatistas. He adds that not only was it worth it for his company, but the residents in all three buildings are experiencing more comfort. And the eighth storey rooms below the pumps at Indigo Tower? All is now quiet – no more complaints. 

The potential for similar retrofits in Dubai is enormous. “It is important to focus attention on the massive contribution that retrofitting old and inefficient pumps will make to meeting Dubai’s 2030 vision of a 30% reduction in water and energy consumption,” says Charles Blaschke. He adds that pump retrofits also contribute toward the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals SDG6 and 13 – water and climate.

“It starts with one building. One building at a time,” he says. “We see these buildings as locked potentials of value. Energy savings, carbon savings, money savings – they are all sitting in these buildings almost untouched and untapped.

”He says the “pay as you save” business model, allowing building owners to retrofit their HVAC systems at no capital cost, is the incentive to unlock the long-term value in their buildings. 

“All we need to do is get to them and almost open the valve,” he says. “It’s not hopes and dreams or something that’s not feasible. It’s right there, and it’s very simple to achieve.”

Topic:

Pump retrofits in commercial buildings

Location:

Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Company:

Taka Solutions and H&H Property Management and Development

“I’m really keen to say it was worth it,” says Vasileios Vatistas, Portfolio Manager, H&H Property Management and Development, on the Grundfos Energy Check and Taka Solutions pump and chiller system upgrade at three buildings in Dubai.

 

Indigo Tower, Dubailand, Dubai

 

Green Tower, Deira, Dubai

 

Falcon Tower, Deira, Dubai

 

Vasileios Vatistas of H&H (left) and Indigo Tower’s Facility Manager learn how to monitor the Grundfos NBE pumps via a smartphone Grundfos GO app from a Grundfos Service technician (right). 

 

Green Tower’s new HVAC pumps are using 57% less electricity for keeping the office building cool than previously after the building retrofit.

 

Contacts_TEXT

Contact

If you need a similar solution, please contact us for further information.

Contact

If you need a similar solution, please contact us for further information.